Alzheimer Society of Nova Scotia

YOU, wearing your heart on your sleeve

In Uncategorized on May 7, 2013 at 3:14 pm

http://jluytkis.files.wordpress.com/2011/12/heart-sleeve.jpg

source

Sunday was my first major event with the organization.  It was an unbelievable day of nerves, emotions and successes.  When I walked away from the event I was spent.  I was utterly exhausted.

 But let me be honest.  As tired as I was, there were scores of other people leaving that building equally as fatigued.  As much as my co-coordinator and I think this was our event, it wasn’t.  This was a team effort. 

 It is time to recognize the people that made Walk for Memories a success.  From the dedicated staff in our office that lent us a hand packing, unpacking, setting up, cutting, stapling, and gluing, to the gangs of volunteers that gave up a beautiful Sunday afternoon to be with us and help deliver a successful event – Thank YOU!  And let us not forget the event committee that has spent months (or years) meeting, emailing, organizing, sourcing and raising funds.  No one person can take the banner at this event. 

 And I would be remiss not to mention the walkers and donors.  These are people who have used their spare time and energy to raise money for our cause.  People who were happy to be helping.  These generous individuals did not just give money; they gave hope to families who might not be feeling very hopeful right now.  They helped form a community where people can go to not feel alone.  It’s more than just raising money or awareness.  It is about groups of strangers coming together to fight for a cause that they feel very strongly about. 

I would be surprised if YOU could find anyone in that crowd on Sunday that did not feel a sense of hope and pride for what we accomplished.  We united to HONOUR, CELEBRATE and REMEMBER those that have lived with or are living with Alzheimer’s disease and other dementias.  And honour them we did. 

I want to take this opportunity to thank everyone who helped make Sunday a success.  I want to thank the families I had the privilege to speak to, who were kind enough to share their very personal and moving stories.  YOU are the reason I am doing this job, and YOU are the reason why I will continue to do this job. 

Please click on this link to see the wonderful story that CTV Atlantic did about Walk for Memories in Sydney, Nova Scotia.

http://atlantic.ctvnews.ca/video?clipId=919986&binId=1.1145463&playlistPageNum=1


Leave a Reply

