Alzheimer Society of Nova Scotia

You, and the quest for information

In Uncategorized on April 16, 2013 at 3:04 pm

Source

Currently I am working on developing an evaluation for my upcoming event.  This is never an easy process for me because I want feedback on everything. But, as we all know, if your survey is too long your participants will never fill it out.  And with each brilliant question that pops in my head, my survey gets longer and my chances for having it returned get smaller and smaller.   I struggle with how to be a minimalist when I know that the data I can collect from the evaluations can have a big impact on future events.

My department has been talking a lot lately about demographics and analytics.  As my current event is no longer in its infancy, and the logistics of the day are becoming more formulaic, we are able to devote more time to uncovering our key demographic.  And when budget restraints are an issue, it makes sense for us to use our dollars wisely.  What output will make the most impact?  What type of media will get our message out there with the best ROI? In order to know the answers to these questions, we need to know our audience.  This can be a vital part of the evaluation.

 

But length is not my only issue with evaluations; we also have concern about getting participants to return them.  The roll out of our event does not give participants the opportunity to fill surveys out on site.  So we have to rely on surveys sent out after the fact.  Two great, free online survey options are www.surveymonkey.com and www.survs.com.

Evaluations also offer organizers the perfect opportunity to self-evaluate.  This is an excellent tip I got from a boss I had years ago.  As important as it is to see the event through your participant’s eyes, it is also important for YOU to take the time to evaluate your job and what YOU observed.  And though most of us do this as part of our post-event reporting, taking the time to fill out the evaluation yourself gives you a great way to focus and reflect.  It can also be helpful to create a separate evaluation for you and your coworkers to evaluate what they experienced in the planning and delivery process.

Now back to the drawing board to create a survey that gives me everything I need without overwhelming the participants.

Leave a Reply

